DOCUMENTS

 

 

CONTACT

Town Manager
Willy Powell
manager@minturn.org
970-827-5645 x8

Mayor
Matt Scherr
mscherr@minturn.org

Mayor Pro Tem
Earle Bidez ebidez@minturn.org

Council Members

Terry Armistead
tarmistead@minturn.org

Harvey Craig hcraig@minturn.org

Sidney Harrington
sharrington@minturn.org

Sage Pierson
spierson@minturn.org

John Widerman
jwiderman@minturn.org


 

MAIN STREET (HWY 24) PEDESTRIAN PLANNING

 

Update:

 

Click here for Dec 8, 2016 Update

 

Decisions by Town Council at the July 6, 2016 Town Council Meeting. Sidewalk continuity to be maintained in Minturn from the 100 Block to the Boneyard Open Space:

  • Meek Ave to Mann Ave
    • East side: Varies 5’ to 8’ sidewalk, no on-street parking
    • West side: 5’ sidewalk, 8’ parallel parking where available
  • Mann Ave to Cemetery Rd:
    • East side: 5’ sidewalk, no on-street parking
    • West side: 5’ sidewalk, 4’ shoulder, no on-street parking
  • Cemetery Rd to Boneyard Open Space:
    • East and west side the same: 6’ sidewalk, 8’ parallel parking where available

Residents of Minturn have repeatedly expressed through committees, master planning, public comments, Planning Commission meetings and Council meetings, the desire for the town to provide a safe modem of transportation for pedestrians of all ages, especially along areas of Main Street (HWY 24) where no sidewalk, curb, path or shoulder exists for children walking to the school bus stop or families trying to get to Little Beach Park (as examples).

The Main Street Pedestrian Planning (engineering) project is the first action step in the process to meet this public need. Minturn has received a Transportation Alternative Program grant through the Federal Government, to engineer a set of plans for what the extension of sidewalks/paths might look like on Main Street to Maloit Park Road. Minturn then intends to use these engineered plans to apply for grants to assist the funding of constructing such infrastructure. Through a competitive process, the town has hired Stolfus & Associates to be the lead engineer for the project. Stolfus is an engineering firm which specializes in transportation projects.

Property owners on Main Street are welcomed and encouraged to sign up for one-on-one meeting with engineers and town staff to discuss the project in more details and ask property-specific questions. Call Michelle Metteer at 970-827-5645 x2 or send an email to: mmetteer@minturn.org to schedule a meeting either Wednesday, June 29 or Thursday, June 30.

Thank you for your commitment to the community.
Town of Minturn

 

INITIAL PROJECT TIMELINE

Schedule

Dates & locations may be subject to change. Please check back often or stop by Town Hall for the most up to date information.

June 1, 2016

Town Council preliminary plan review
 

June 7, 2016

Open House #1 for public review / All preliminary maps will be available at the June 7 open house
 

June 8, 2016

All preliminary maps will be available at this website for review
 

June 29 & 30, 2016

One on One meetings with South Minturn property owners
 

Dec 7, 2016

Town Council Preliminary Plans Presentation
 

Dec 8, 2016

Open House #2 3:00 pm to 7:00 pm at Minturn Town Hall
 

January

One on One meetings scheduled with select homeowners